top of page
  • Writer's pictureKetty 410

Hello Baby Kayden!


Hello Baby Kayden!

Give birth to him at 38 weeks 2 days.

Weight: 2.9kg

Length: 49cm

Date: 11 April 2019

Time: 3:17am

Sharing my first natural birth experience at Hospital Likas. Kyle was a ceaserean baby at Hospital Likas too. Now I experienced both ways of giving birth. If you asked me to choose again, I would choose natural birth eventhou the contraction time was crazy! But the recovery definitely faster 😎

09 April 2019

Went for review at JMC Dr. Sutha. She helped me to check my dilation and stimulated my cervix. That day was 2cm. She said my cervix was still quite thick so might need to wait few days or a week. If have 5 minutes apart contraction then go hospital.

10 April 2019

5:30 am

Started feeling tightening and contraction.

I have a feeling it will go longer and more frequent so I woke up and double checked my hospital bag, put on mattress cover for Kayden.

6:00am

The contraction interval was every 10 minutes. Hubby woke up and I told him about my contraction. He then washed baby's bottle and bath tub etc while I'm doing other house chores, clean the house. The contraction interval was 10 to 5 minutes apart but bearable.

9:00am

Done everything. Shower then send Kyle to school. Keep hugging and kissing him, told him that mummy had to go hospital to meet didi. First time he didn't sleep with us, makes me a little worry and miss him.

10:00am

Went to LTS supermarket to buy stuff then go for brunch at Damai. Hubby insisted want me to go hospital because he very scared I will give birth at home. I said I know my body and its not the right time yet. He sent me there anyway 😒

11:37am

Went in Bilik Penilaian and got checked. Dilated 3cm. Only 3cm! Sigh so I got admitted. Then I kept do squat and walks a lot. Doctor said they will check again after 6 hours. Which is 7:30pm. Nice right their new uniform, love the dust pink hue and polka dots!

4:30pm

Finally got a bed for me at Kenanga Ward 1, Room 4 Bed 5. Took shower and had dinner. The contraction getting intense.

7:00pm

I already feel stronger contraction so I asked nurse to check my dilation. 4cm! So they booked me in labour room but nurse said it's very full so have to wait.

Between 7 to 11pm

The contraction interval happens every 2 minutes! I'm so in pain I can't sleep, keep pray and breathe in and out until i hold the CTG machine next to me. Asked for pain killer. Doctor gave it to me around 9:30pm. I get to sleep but dunno after how long the pain killer not working anymore! Then the every 2 minutes contraction it woke me up.

When nurse and doctor came to check on me and baby's heartbeat, i kept asked if the labour room is ready, I want epidural. Nurse said she called but still not available yet. Then she encouraged me to wait a little bit more.

11:30pm

Doctor came and check my dilation again then she was shocked said she can't feel the membrane means that I'm fully dilated then she asked a nurse and another doctor to double confirm. They said still can feel abit on left I've dilated to 8cm! I was like WHAT! No chance for me to use epidural already! Nurse and doctor kept say I dilated very fast, kept praised me. Lol.

11 April 2019

12:00am

Finally in labour room! Room 16. Reunited with hubby. They continued to monitor baby's heartbeat and said give me 2 hours to fully dilate. But not even 30 minutes I already feel the pooping feeling! So they came and check again at 1:00am I've fully dilated. I remember I kept say contraction is coming! 😂

But I'm not sure what they waiting. At 3am only asked the Medical officer to come in and started the labour.

Doctor asked hubby to go out for a while then when they're ready, they asked him to come in. Then said: Daddy mari tengok, can see baby's head already! Hubby was walking in and had no choice but seen the whole scene. HAHAHA! He said it cannot be unseen.

He also saw how doctor and mid wife put their fingers in to make it wider!

I remember I did poop and pee. It was so messy! Then he started to tell me the techniques to labour. The doctor and Mid wife keep encouraged me to hold my breathe and push when the contraction comes. I have to push my legs on the leg handle thing, and hold the lower bed frame then hold my breathe and pushhhhhh! Doctor asked me not to push with sound so I can keep my energy.

The feeling is like you need to let go a massive poop!

3:17am

Kayden was out from my womb! It was such a relief but it didn't end there! 😭 Doctor had to push out my placenta, blood clogs in my womb and then midwife to do stitches on my tear and cut down there. It was really painful eventho mid wife injected drug that helps me feels nothing, but i still can feel it and i keep eee ahh ee ahh!

We didn't experience the body to body touch because Kayden swallowed some of the poop so they had to bring him to take it out and check for an hour. Thank God all is good!

5:30am

Finally everything completed! We get to sleep with exhaustion.

8:00am

Send me and baby to Kenanga Ward 3. Breastfed him and sleep.

12:00pm

After all check up on me and baby are done. Doctor said can discharge! It was so quick!

3:30pm

Finally discharged! We're on our way home now to let Kyle koko meet his little brother ❤️

Baby and me are doing good now. Just that my body are sore because pushed too hard haha. Felt like I went to hike Mount K and walk like a crab now.

Really thank God for everything. I remembered I prayed so hard to experience His wonders and goodness, His creation on our body and to experience a full natural birth! I did give up on it and wanted to use Epidural haha but well, God said since you've asked for it then you shall receive.

Thank God for very very friendly Doctors, nurses and awesome Mid Wife!

And pain is really can be forgotten! So let's do it again after few years :p

Next post, 5 Reasons Why I Choose to Give Birth in Government Hospital.

Can you guess how much was my bill? Stay tune! ❤️

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
bottom of page